7 Weeeks Until We Roll!

I am now less than 2 months away from the start of our cross-country ride!

     Since I am living in New York City finishing up my Master’s degree in public health, I have joined with a biking club here to train.  Every Saturday I ride with the New York Cycle group across the George Washington Bridge into New Jersey.  Our rides started at about 45 miles and are building to a century ride in early May.  Below is a picture of me with my bike on one of these training rides. You will see my name prominently displayed on my helmet, a requirement for the training group and a nice way to meet strangers in Central Park when I forget to take it off.

u.1.bb01.jpg

     The George Washington Bridge (Picture taken in the fall), a nice view from the Columbia University Medical Center in Washington Heights, NYC:

u.1.bb02.jpg     I have also been coordinating volunteer hours with the New York City Habitat for Humanity.  I will be helping out at two build sites in Queens and in Coney Island, Brooklyn in April.  Bike and Build is a non-profit committed to raising awareness and funds for affordable housing issues.  Along my southern route across the country from Jacksonville, Florida to Monterey, California the group of 35 young adults that I am a part of will be building with affordable housing organizations like Rebuilding Together and Habitat for Humanity.  Each rider raises $4,500 before the trip which goes towards grants for these same organizations. NONE of the money goes towards gear. We were lucky enough to get bikes donated by Giant.  Each rider is responsible for their own gear. While on the road, lunch is created from donated bread and peanut butter.  Dinner is donated by our host (usually a church, YMCA or community center).  Costs are kept low. We will also be giving informational presentations to members of each community we pass through covering affordable housing issues.  On the side we will be doing bicycle safety lessons for youth in those communities as well.  Here is a brief video about the trip: click here.

     I am proud to report that through generous donations from friends, family, fellow cyclists, Bike and Build Alum, Faith Lutheran Church members and many others, 68% of my goal has been reached with a whopping $3,050 out of $4,500!!!

     As I get out fundraising I have been learning more about how Bike and Build impacts communities.

Here are two videos from Bike and Build grantees in Massachusetts:

Rebuilding Together– Springfield, Massachusetts (click here)

 North Shore Community Development Coalition–Salem, Massachusetts (click here) 

     One of the unique aspects of Bike and Build’s mission is it’s focus on young adults.  Bike and Build is committed to engaging young adults in their communities through fostering leadership and lifelong philanthropic service.  Bike and Build focuses on contributing only to organizations with a focus on engaging young adults.

     To learn more about Bike and Build you can visit their website www.bikeandbuild.org

To learn more about me about my motivation for participating you can visit my rider biography page at http://bikeandbuild.org/rider/7197

Thank you for following my progress!

 

All the best,

Kirstin

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment